In addition to putting encouraging posts about how we can be thankful as Christians, I will be posting updates on the progress of my novel from time to time or even about writing in general. If you want to ignore those, then just bypass any post that has the title “writing” on it.

I recently finished the first draft of my novel, Soul Yearning, and decided to enter a 500 word excerpt of it into a contest. I had no expectation of being selected and was shocked when I got an email saying mine had been one of the two chosen.

Clash of the Titles is a website that seeks to unite readers with authors through competition. Each week, they have one or two contests, in which authors submit a portion of their writing. The staff member selects the two best submissions and then posts them during the appropriate week. Without knowing the author or book title, readers vote on their favorite/best one for two days. Then, they reveal the two authors and their books and for two days you can learn more about them via comments and interviews. On Friday, the winner is unveiled.

This week’s contest is for unpublished authors (me!) and the excerpt had to be an action scene. I got the email about the contest the night the submissions were due. Thankfully, there are a lot of action scenes in my novel, so I found one and submitted it. Mine was selected and the Clash is this week.  I wasn’t allowed to reveal it to anyone (I had to pinky swear) or you’d have known about it earlier. This was to keep the vote from being a popularity contest. The vote is done now and they’ve revealed the authors. If you go to http://www.clashofthetitles.com you’ll find my excerpt as well as a little about me and my book. Come back on Thursday and there will be more information and on Friday you can see if I won the contest!

