So, my boss graciously decided to schedule me a few hours later than I normally work on a Thursday. Since I received my schedule, I’ve been dreading it. To top it off, I am still fighting this nasty cold that seems to sap my strength every second I’m on my feet. About the time I would normally clock out, business was slow, so I was standing alone at the front counter and thinking, “this stinks.” The practical side of me argued, “This is an extra couple hours of pay you’ll be getting.” The cranky side of me said, “Big deal – What’s 20 bucks in the big scheme of things?”

Of course 20 dollars is a lot of money, especially to someone who has nothing. But at that moment, it didn’t seem worth the fatigue and stress of another two hours of work. As the practical and cranky side of me wrestled with this, another thought popped in my mind.

“20 dollars is another Christimas present (or 2) for one of the kids.”

I don’t know if the Lord put that thought there, but it certainly changed my perspective in a heartbeat. I immediately thanked the Lord for the extra work becauseof the extra smile it would bring to one of my beautiful children on Christmas morning. Now I wasn’t just working for 20 dollars. I was taking part in bringing a smile to their little faces.

Don’t go make work an idol or anything in the name of a Merry Christmas, but maybe during a long day in life it might be a good idea to ask God to give you the right perspective. You just might end up thankful 🙂

“If you then be risen with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ sits on the right hand of God. Set your affection on things above, not on the things of earth.” – Colossians 3:1-2.

