I know healthcare is a hot topic these days and it’s easy to complain about doctors, insurance companies, or politicians. But last night a friend of mine gave birth to a beautiful, healthy boy. Both mommy and baby are perfectly fine, despite some complications that eventually required a c-section. Anytime this happens to someone, I am reminded of my own family. I have a healthy wife and four wonderfully healthy children despite the fact that if I lived a hundred years ago I would have none of them. A century or more ago, the best I could have hoped for was a choice from the doctors about which life they could save: My wife or my child.

While living in a 21st century western culture certainly has its challenges, it also has its blessings. God didn’t have to create me in this day and age. He didn’t have to create me to be born in the U.S.  And He didn’t owe me a wonderful family. I am so grateful to my Jesus for Beverly and the kids. Countless times they have brought a smile to my face and I’m reminded just how good my life is.  “O give thanks to the Lord for He is good and His mercy endures forever.” – Psalm 107.1

Have you thanked the Lord lately for how good your life is compared to how bad it could have been if the Lord was not gracious?

