Today was my first day at my new job. So, you might be wondering why I’m talking about how thankful I am for my old job at Chick-fil-a.

At the beginning of 2009, things were very difficult financially for both the church and my family. I hadn’t been paid my salary by the church for almost a year as the church was barely struggling to meet it’s bills. Our tax return kept us afloat, but I knew it was time to start looking for a 2nd job. My problem was that no one would hire me. No one was hiring at all. I put out almost 200 resumes/applications over the winter and spring and received 1 interview. When July rolled around, we were out of money and with no source of income.  Ethan was due in 7 weeks and I was very down. I knew the Lord would take care of me and my family, but the unknown details of how he would do so was weighing heavily on me.

The first week of July, I felt like the Lord told me to call my old boss at the CFA I helped open and worked at for 7 years. When I called, he said he had nothing available for me and I wondered now if I could even hear from the Lord. I prayed again and felt like the Lord told me that he wanted me to be open to returning to fast food work. I got the message and applied at a few, one being the CFA in Lake Mary. I carefully planned my arrival during a time when I knew the crowds wouldn’t be there so I could speak with the owner. Well, when I got there, it was perfect. The owner had time to meet me. But as soon as he shook my hand, a busload of cheerleaders walked in, storming the front counter. I shook my head, smiled, and thanked him for coming out as I handed him my resume. So much for face time with the owner.

3 weeks went by and I wrote it off as another dead end. Then, on a Saturday night (of all nights), at 8pm, I got a call from them asking if I could come to an interview. I was shocked, but didn’t know what to expect. To make a long story short, both of my interviews went great, and when the owner described the postion he was offering me, my proverbial mouth hit the floor. I couldn’t believe the wage he was offering and the fact that he would be so accomadating to my schedule as a Pastor.

While the next 6 months were rough, we pulled out of the finanical tailspin we were in and the Lord used my job there to right our finances. That wasn’t all though. There were numerous other lessons I learned there. I learned to humble myself, to trust the Lord, and to work to please Him alone. God revealed my pride, my selfishness, and my desire to be noticed in ways I never knew I struggled with before. He taught me the honor of hard work  and how to find joy in Him alone. And for that I am so thankful. I would have never picked the job at CFA for myself, but the Lord knew what was best for me. I thank Him for loving me enough to put me through the pain and difficulties that eventually drew me closer to Him than I’ve ever been.

When I started my new job today, I had no regrets upon leaving CFA. Nor did I leave with a vindicative heart or frustrated mind. I left content, knowing that the last year and a half of my life there was ordained by God and before my time there was finished, I had yielded to that 🙂

Numbers 8:14 says, “Thus shall you separate the Levites from among the children of Israel: and the Levites shall be mine.” On my lunch break each day at CFA, I would read my Bible. This was the chapter I read on my last day of work there. The Levites were the ones who served the people alongside the priests. The New Testament says that Christians are a Kingdom of Priests, separated to Jesus for His use. I am so glad I don’t belong to me 🙂 I ‘m so thankful the Lord says to me, “You are mine.” Because He can take far better care of me than I can myself.

Have you thanked the Lord for the fact that He knows what is best for you better than you do? Have you thanked the Lord for where He has you right now in your life?

