Okay, there’s no spiritual revelation here. Today, I completed my first week of training for my new job at OCPS. That means I’m now on break for 2 weeks! I don’t think I’ve ever been off for Christmas before, so I’m very excited about enjoying the break with Beverly and the kids. While there will still be much to do at the church, this will be a nice time to wind down and relax during a time that has always been very hectic when I’m bi-vocational.

While no verse or devotion motivated my thankfulness directly, there is a spiritual side to this post. The Reformers had a term for God’s general kindness to all mankind. It was called Common Grace. It is the idea that everything good that happens in life is not the result of any internal goodness in man. Rather, it is the result of God’s kindness, compassion, and grace. Every smile on a child’s face, every day we wake up alive, or the joy of a wedding are all the result of God’s grace, whether you love Him or hate Him. Matthew 5:44-45 urges us to love our enemies and do good to them because that’s how God treats His enemies. v45 says, “For He makes his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sends rain on the just and on the unjust.”

So, what’s the spiritual side of my Christmas break? It’s the truth repeated throughout the Psalms. “Oh give thanks unto the Lord, for He is good; for his mercy endures forever.”

Have you thanked the Lord for all the things in your life that don’t seem like obvious spiritual blessings?

