As my one year old rages at us from his bedroom at 11:30 at night, I am reminded of something Beverly told me a few weeks ago. She talked to me about a person who had lost their child and how they longed to deal with cranky nights of no sleep again, if only they could have them back.

Today was my first day on vacation and it was a nice one. But amidst hide and seek with my daughter and my 7 year old sharing tunes with me on his mp3 player, there were plenty of moments that weren’t so warm and fuzzy. My daughter was taking toys away from the 1 year old. My oldest was complaining about his band instrument (the 3rd one we’ve gotten him) not working properly. The 7 year old was deaf half the time, rocking out to worship music in his newly acquired mp3 player.

And then to top it off, I got a phone call at dinner time from a friend asking for prayer for a friend of theirs. Somewhere in the Northwest, a man named Jake Gallagher is fighting for his life after a horrible car accident last night. I can’t imagine what his wife and two daughters are feeling right now. I know this though. They’d take every annoying, frustrating, or difficult moment they’ve ever gone through in a heartbeat just  to hear that Jake is going to be ok.

I’m so thankful for Beverly and the kids. I would never, under any circumstances, change a single thing about how my life has turned out. I am living a dream come true and any difficult or annoying times are worth it just to spend my life with them. Psalm 127 says, “Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb is His reward.”

Have you thanked the Lord that you get to deal with all the difficulties of raising children?

 And also, could you please say a prayer for Jake and his family when you read this?

