So, vacation is fun. Between shopping, cleaning the house, vegging out, or editing my novel, I’ve enjoyed it.  But there’s one problem with a vacation. My routine is completely off, which means it’s easy to neglect some of the most important things I do each day. When I was at Bible College, our instructors would remind us during the holidays that we were on vacation from school, not from the Lord.

Enter last night. Caught up in all the non-important things, I hadn’t read my Bible in a couple days. Oh, I’d looked up a few verses online for something and opened my wife’s Bible once or twice when we were talking about spiritual things at home. But I hadn’t sat at the feet of Jesus. Last night, the kids were being kids and I was “doing something”. Off went the volcano as I laid into my children. Now the story ends well. I apologized later on and asked the appropriate children to forgive me for losing my temper. But as I lay in bed at night, I was very disappointed in myself because my reaction was out of character for me.

And then it dawned on me. I hadn’t spent time with Jesus. So, this morning, I made sure I opened my Bible and spent time with my Savior. When I did, correction, love, forgiveness, peace, empowerment, and joy filled my heart. We talked about last night as He challenged me to obedience. We talked about how to avoid these pitfalls in the future. And He told me to take courage as I set off to do things the right way from this day onward.

In Jesus’ day, they asked him for signs and wonders and it is no different today. What I’ve come to see is that the greatest miracle and wonder is God revealing Himself and speaking to me through His written Word. Deuteronomy 4:32-33 makes the same claim. “For ask now of the days that are past, which were before you, since the day that God created man upon the earth, and ask from the one side of heaven unto the other, whether there has any such thing as this great thing is, or has been heard like it? Did ever people hear the voice of God speaking out of the midst of the fire, as you have heard, and live?” The greatest miracle the world has seen sits on our coffee tables or in our book shelves 🙂

I’m so thankful I live in a country where the Bible is legal. I’m so glad its importance was instilled in me at a young age. I’m so glad God has given me His Word!

Have you thanked the Lord for your Bible lately? Take some time today to sit at Jesus’ feet and read what He has to say to you 🙂

