It’s been a few weeks since my last post. I’ve been adjusting to a new work schedule and the kids were sick all during Christmas break. Which brings me to what’s on my heart today. At my old job, I would usually read my Bible on my break. It was a wonderful time and always  got my day started in the right mindset. At my new job, which I love and am very thankful for, my trainer wants to talk to me during my break. That’s not a problem of course, but it did kind of throw a monkey wrench into my spiritual disciplines. Getting up at 5:30 AM is a bit earlier than I’m used to, so let’s just say I wasn’t exactly feasting on the Word those first few days. While I wasn’t doing anything blatantly wrong in my behavior, I could feel the strain of a poor spiritual diet and missed the closeness of the Lord.

What blows me away is that last week was amazing. You would think an unspiritual week would produce a bad week right? Midway through Saturday, I sat back on the couch and took a deep breath because God’s goodness toward me was overwhelming. My new job is a dream come true. God reconnected me with a friend I hadn’t seen in years. He’s brought some new friends into my life that I’m becoming very close to. God is moving in some very powerful ways in the lives of the people at church. And that morning, God opened up some new doors in my writing career.

The kicker in all this is that as I sat on the couch, I was so aware of how undeserving I was of all these blessings. I didn’t have a spiritual week. I didn’t feel very near to the Lord. Yet, in His kindness, the Lord saw fit to give me one of the best weeks I’ve had in my life.

Grace is a topic oft misunderstood or under-appreciated. Galatians 2:21 says, “I do not frustrate the grace of God: for if righteousness comes by the law, then Christ is dead in vain.” One greek dictionary described the word “frustrate” as “to deprive a law of force by actions or opinions opposed to it.” Grace is God’s unearned favor lavished upon those who are infinitely ill-deserving. The only proper response to grace is to receive it and fall more in love with Him. David asked in Psalm 116:11, “What shall I render to the Lord for all His benefits toward me?” He answers in v12-13, “I will take the cup of salvation and call upon the name of the Lord. I will pay my vows unto the Lord in the presence of all His people.”

I am so thankful for God’s grace toward me. He has given me so much that I don’t deserve. I don’t want to make Christ’s death meaningless in my everyday life simply because I’ve had an unspiritual day or week. Because when I recognize His grace toward me, my heart is drawn to a deeper faith and obedience than I’ve ever known before. I love Him because He first loved me 🙂

Have you thanked God lately for all that He’s done for you despite the fact that you don’t deserve anything? Make some time to do so tonight!

