Have you ever thought of how amazing it is that God gives you a chance to change your mind? This idea struck me during my devotions today in a way it hasn’t before. At the end of Numbers 14, Moses tells Israel that God is going to cause them to wander in the wilderness for 40 years because they refused to trust Him. Their reaction is to say, “We’ll do what what God says now. We messed up. Let’s go invade the Promised land.”

What blew me away is that although there was confession on their part and even an outward change in behavior, there was absoultey zilch when it came to repentance. How do I know? In v42-43, Moses says, “Go not up, for the Lord is not among you … because ye are turned away from the Lord, therefore the Lord will not be with you.” They still hadn’t changed their mind about doing things God’s way instead of their own way. Of course, they went up and got whooped. You can read the whole story on your own as there’s a ton to glean there.

When I was finished digesting the whole passage, I realized that Israel had a choice. I looked back at all my past failures and it struck me that none of that mattered at this point. From this moment on, if I chose to change my mind about those things, I could walk with the Lord and He’d take me with open arms. If you think that doesn’t apply to you, look at what Jesus has to say to a false prophetess in Revelation 2:21. After listing all the awful things she was doing in v20, he says in v21, “And I gave her space to repent of her fornication”. Even someone like her? Yep.

2 Peter 3:9 says, “The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.” I’m so thankful God doesn’t wipe me out when I sin. That’s what I deserve and we can see as much with His threatening of Israel at the beginning of Numbers 14. Yet, He gives me the opportunity to repent – to change my mind and get it back in alignment with His heart.

Are you thankful that God doesn’t just wipe you out when you blow it? Take some time to thank the Lord for His tender mercies and respond to Him in repentance when He puts His finger on something in your life 🙂

