Sometimes we go through hard times because of our own sin or bad decisions. God cannot be blamed for that nor can I claim He’s broken his promise of 1 Corinthians 10:13 when that happens. That’s just reaping what I’ve sown.

However, even when I am walking with the Lord, hard times can come by His permission. This last week was a doozy for me and my family. Our little one had a double ear infection and he was worse than miserable. My wife hadn’t slept in 3 or 4 days. Our oldest had Strep. Then, we had an unexpected $600 expense come up. The very next day, my wife calls me to tell me the air conditioning in the van isn’t working and the check engine light is on (two unrelated problems). We’d just spent a large sum of money purchasing new carpet, so this was going to kill all of our savings.

Needless to say, I was a smidgeon miffed. But the Lord kept reminding me that He was in control and He would take care of us like He always does. So, we brought the van into the repair shop and prayed that the A/C part that broke would be under warranty still and the check engine issue would be minor.

That afternoon, the new carpet came a week early. I actually said the words, “Wow, something went right this week.” There was one problem. They sent the wrong carpet. I thought, “Lord, I’m not sure we can handle any more bad news this week!”

Well, I went to work the next day and we got the report on the van. The A/C  part was under warranty for 200 more miles and the check engine light was a faulty gas cap issue. Total bill: $49. I smiled and hung up the phone. When I sat down, God brought 1 Corinthians 10:13 immediately to my mind. It says, “There has no temptation taken you but such as is common to man: but God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that you are able; but will with the temptation also make a way to escape, that you may be able to bear it.”

That verse is often misquoted by saying God won’t give us more than we can handle. Well, since we can’t handle anything on our own, that’s not a very Biblical concept. But, God does allow us to be tempted in order that we might learn where we are at in our walk with Him. Yet, He never lets us be tempted beyond our limits. He knows our breaking point and will always provide a path of escape from that which will crush us.

I’m so grateful the Lord allowed the A/C to break right before it went out of warranty. I’m so glad that He knows me so intimately and can intervene on my behalf when the enemy seeks to deal a crushing blow.

Have you taken the time to thank the Lord for sparing you from all the things that could go wrong in your life?

