I’m also thankful neither are you! Or any human being for that matter. One of the things people say often is this: “If I were God … “, then fill in the blank with how they would run the universe. When tragedy strikes or difficulties arise in life, we ask God why. Implicit in that question is the thought that I would have done things differently. And if I’m really honest with myself, there is the thought that I could have done things better.

I had a very heavy heart today. My day was wonderful. But halfway across the world tragedy struck people I’ve never met in such a horrifying way that I cannot shake it from my mind. I felt powerless and heartbroken as I watched video’s or read reports of the tsunami that struck Japan. I could only imagine if my family and I were caught in the middle of it and how small I would be compared to the destruction coming my way.

But, even more horrifying to me, is the responses I’ve seen by many to this sad event. I’ve read messages from people who blame God or claim this proves He doesn’t exist. There has been such a backlash against my Heavenly Father, I’ve gotten chills thinking about the significance of it. Have we really entered the days spoken of in Revelation 16, when men will shake their fists at God and blaspheme Him simply because He’s given them what they’ve asked for?

What have they asked for? A world without Him, ruled by us.

This world we live in is not the Kingdom of God. Adam and Eve made a decision long ago to leave the kingdom of light and life and to enter the kingdom of darkness. They left behind a world with no earthquakes, tsunami’s, or tragedies all because they wanted to do things their way. Lest I place the blame all on them, I made that same decision at some point in my life as well (and still do sometimes). And for those who persist in unbelief, they exult in that decision. I cannot blame God for what happened in Japan. My anger should be placed squarely on myself because this is the kingdom I chose.

You might say, “But if God is a God of love, He would stop things like this from happening”. And if He did, would everyone believe? Revelation 20:7-9 is chilling. After 1000 years of perfect peace under Christ’s reign, multitudes will still hate God. He will give us a world with no earthquakes, crime, sickness, or evil. He will bring the Kingdom of God to us and lock away the kingdom of darkness. But people will be so angry at not being given a choice to rule their own lives. And after 1000 years, God will give them the same choice Adam and Eve had. Many will choose to rebel against the Kingdom of light and life, ” …the number of whom (those that rebel) is as the sand of the sea.”

I don’t claim to understand everything. But I do know one thing: I’m not God. If I were God, I wouldn’t toy with mankind by sending a tsunami here and there that destroys thousands. I would have wiped out this rebellious, unthankful creation en masse long ago. Our God isn’t like that though. Even in judgment, He is patient and slow to move. And always He seeks to rescue us from our own choices. John 3:16 says, “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believes in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.” We chose the kingdom of darkness, but He refused to leave us there. “But as many as received Him, to them He gave the right to become the children of God, even to them that believe on His name.” (John 1:12)

I’m so thankful I have a loving Savior who rescued me from sin. I’m so thankful that in the midst of tragedy I have a God who pleads with me to walk in the Kingdom of light and life.  He doesn’t want me to perish. He wants to rescue me.

So, pray for the people of Japan. Pray God will be merciful and rescue thousands. And thank Him that you don’t have His job 🙂 Because no one would do it better than Him.

