Elizabeth Taylor died today. I don’t know much about her, except that she was famous (I’m not much into movies or movie history). If you did know a lot about her maybe you liked her, maybe you didn’t. Whether you liked her or not at this point really doesn’t matter to her though. As any person steps out of this life and into eternity, only one relationship matters. My relationship with Jesus. I’m not posting this to speculate on where Liz Taylor is right now. That is pointless and ultimately between her and the Lord. But her death does make me think about where I’m headed when I die.

There is a phrase that is seen a few times in the Bible that has always stood out to me, even from my very first days of being a Christian. Matthew 7:21-23 talks about a group of people who did a lot of good things, even miracles. Yet, Jesus responds by saying, “I never knew you.” Matthew 25:1-13 talks about a group of young virgins who are waiting for the groom. When some of them find out that he’s come while they didn’t expect, they go to where he’s staying and ask him to let them in. He replies in v12, “I know you not.” It basically means, “We were never friends.”

This lesson stuck firmly in my heart. Jesus wanted me. He wasn’t interested in my religious activities simply for the sake of doing them. He was interested in me getting to know Him and doing all those things because of His love for me (and thus out of love for Him in return). Yet, even though I understood this, I still struggled with where I was going when I died. I longed to know the peace that is supposed to come from the words of John 14:1-3. “Let not your hearts be troubled. You believe in God, believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many mansions. If it were not so, I would not have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go to prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself, that where I am, you may be also.” I always thought those verses applied to the pastor or the other believers who really loved Jesus and not me with all my struggles. I hoped it might apply to me, but I didn’t think it was possible to know for sure.

Enter 1 John 5:13 into my life. “These things have I written unto you that believe on the name of the Son of God, that you may know that you have eternally life, and that you may believe on the name of the Son of God.” Woah. You mean there’s an entire letter in the Bible written about this topic? And it’s main purpose is so I can absolutely know that I possess eternal life right now and have a home in heaven waiting for me the moment I die? Yep. I know this is a blog, but you can shout Amen! How cool is this!

I won’t spoil the letter of 1st John for you, but I will say this. I know where I’m going and I’m so thankful that Jesus promises that I can have assurance of my salvation. I’m so thankful that “I am my beloved’s and He is mine (Song of Songs 6:3).” I am so thankful that “The Lord knows them that are His (2 Timothy 2:19).” I am so thankful for the promise of Romans 4:16: “Therefore it is of faith, that it might be by grace: to the end the promise might be sure.” If it were up to what I could do for God, it would never be sure. Thankfully it’s about being in a right relationship with Him! Jesus wants every one who belongs to Him to have this assurance of their salvation. Do you?

Have you thanked the Lord today for your home in heaven if you know Him? If you don’t have assurance of your salvation, take some time and read 1st John tonight so you can!

