I’m in a phase of my job right now that is not exactly fun. I think I actually texted the words, “This stinks” to my wife once. The good news is that this phase is very temporary. At best, it might only last another week. At worst, to the end of the school year, which is only a month away. By next year or earlier, I should have my own school and all this will be but a memory.

So, I’m trying really hard to keep things in perspective. Whenever I get frustrated, I try to remember that this is only temporary. I knew it was coming. This is just something I have to tough through.

But then the Lord spoke something to my heart the other day. He never tells me in the scriptures to just “get through a tough day.” John 10:10 says, “The thief comes not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.” That last phrase means, “life on a different or higher level, better than everyone else has it.”

So, in light of that challenging thought, I asked myself a question. How do I flourish in a situation that is difficult rather then “just get through it”?

The more I thougth about this, the more I realized that it wasn’t just my job that was weighing me down. Life is extremely busy right now for me (who isn’t) and work was just one of the things I was whining about in my heart. I was looking at everything going on in my life as a task to do. Once I was in the midst of doing it, I felt great. But the prospect of less sleep and constant activity hovered over me like a dark cloud.

What I needed was a mindset change. I didn’t have to take my son to baseball practice. I didn’t have to go to a concert. I didn’t have to take out the trash. I didn’t have to clean up the porch. I got to do all these things. Because not a single moment more with my bride or my children or my friends is promised to me. Every second is a gift from God and every “task” an opportunity to spend with or do something for those I care most about.

Ephesians 5:15-17 says, “See then that you walk circumspectly, not as fools, but as wise, redeeming the time, because the days are evil. Wherefore, don’t be unwise, but understand what the will of the Lord is.” What does God want me to do? Buy back every moment of my life and get the most out of it. I’m so thankful for every moment Jesus gives me on this earth. I don’t deserve my next breath, let alone all the blessings He gives me each second.

Have you taken time today to thank the Lord for every moment? Don’t be foolish by wasting time complaining in your heart. Redeem the time by taking some time to thank him for the life He’s given to you just as it is right now!

