There’s one good part of not being a Genesis finalist. I can finally talk about the content of my novel instead of abiding by the gag order for the contest.

I mentioned that the latter part of Numbers 33:4 inspired me to write Soul Yearning. You might tilt your head and in your best Scooby-Doo voice say, “Huh?”, but please let me explain.

The Egyptians believed in many gods and had no understanding of the One True God. So, when Moses came to Phraoah and told him of God’s demand to let the Israelites go, Pharoah’s response is interesting. He says in Exodus 5;2, “Who is the Lord, that I should obey His voice to let Israel go. I know not the Lord, neither will I let Israel go.” Jehovah God was not a part of the Egyptian pantheon. To Pharoah, he wasn’t a god at all. The Lord was about to change that view.

God used 10 plagues to bring about the release of His people from Egypt, but He had another purpose in doing so. Exodus 7:5 says, “And the Egyptians shall know that I am the LORD … ” Each plague the Lord brought upon Egypt showed His superiority over the gods of the Egyptians. In fact, on the plague of the firstborn, the Lord says in Exodus 12:12, “And against all the gods of Egypt, I will execute judgment: I am the Lord.”

Now we know there is no other god beside the Lord. Yet, the Lord addresses them as such. How does that make sense? Paul explains a little bit in 1 Corinthians 8:4-6 (read it on your own). But I think an interesting passage occurs later on in 1 Corinthians 10:20. “But I say that the things which the Gentiles sacrifice, they sacrifice to devils.” Since Satan and his angels desire to be like the Lord, they crave attention and worship. I believe with all my heart that behind every idol is a living entity of evil seeking to deceive the hearts of man. In Egypt, those enemy forces believed they reigned supreme, but God set the record straight. They might crave worship, but He alone is God and worthy of worship.

As I taught a leadership course based on the life of Moses, a thought struck me when I read Numbers 33:4. What if there was not just a culture (Egypt) that didn’t know the Lord? What if there was an entire world that didn’t know the Lord? What if, like in the Dark Ages, there was a period of time when most of the population lived in a world of lies? And then, what if God decided to intervene by destroying those evil entities and all they represent through the life of a man similar to Moses?

And then my own wild imagination took over. What if that world was a fantastical place full of exotic creatures and cultures? Thus was born the world of Adme and the beginning stages of the story of Soul Yearning. The plot has changed a bit since then. The main character, Albione, doesn’t really resemble Moses much. But if one looks closely, you can see the foundation that started it all.

Now that the Genesis contest is over for me, I plan to put my submission online here for all to read. Those first 15 pages may change as I seek publishing in the next few years, but I can’t imagine it would be drastically different. If you’re not a fan of J.R.R Tolkein, Stephen Lawhead, or other Fantasy writers, it might not be your cup of tea. But if you have a sense of adventure and an imagination for the fantastical, it might give you something to enjoy. At the very least, you’ll get to see what I’m so excited about and working so hard on.

