With all the billboards and media coverage of the group saying that the rapture will occur tomorrow, I’ve been doing some thinking. On the one hand, we have massive groups of people mocking the concept of the rapture and the people preaching about the end of the world. On the other side, we have groups of people who reject the unsound doctrine of the Christians who are doing the preaching. I think something so vital and important is being lost in the mix of all this.

One the last things Paul wrote in scripture is recorded in 2 Timothy 4:8. “Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give to me at that day; and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.” Are you looking forward to Jesus’ return? Does it excite you?

When I was at Bible College, I told my roomates that I didn’t want Jesus to come back just yet. I wanted to get married, have kids, and live life a little first. That same semester, we took a course on Daniel/Revelation. By the end of that class, there was NOTHING I wanted more than to be with my Jesus. And that hasn’t dimmed over the years. There’s nothing I could experience in life that could compare to seeing my Savior face to face for the first time. There’s nothing that could compare to spending eternity with Him. Yes, I’ve got it bad. I’m in love.

So, when I saw the billboard for the first time a few weeks ago, my first thought was “This isn’t doctrinally sound”. But then, I got excited. Because the reality is this: That billboard reminded me of the fact that Jesus could have come back on THAT day at THAT very moment.

Matthew 24:48 says, “But and if that evil servant should say in his heart, my Lord delays his coming … “  My biggest problem with the whole date setting of the rapture theology is just this. If He’s coming back tomorrow, then He can’t come back today. And that’s what an evil servant says.

Matthew 24: 45-46 says, “Who then is a faithful and wise servant, whom his lord hath made ruler over his household, to give them meat in due season? Blessed is that servant, whom his lord when he cometh shall find so doing.” I’m supposed to be expecting Jesus to come back every day. And when He does come, my goal is that He finds me doing what He wants me to do. And that is how we can be ready every day and not be surprised by the Lord’s return. Those preaching this end of the world doctrine claim “we can know” when Christ is coming back because 1 Thessalonians 5:4 says, “But ye, brethren, are not in darkness, that that day should overtake you as a thief.” The whole point of this verse is that if we’re always looking for His return, if we LOVE His appearing, it won’t surprise us. Not because we know the day, but because we know every day could be the day!

So, what’s your reaction to this hubbub? Are you mocking it? Do you oppose it? Or are you excited because it reminds you that Jesus could come back tonight! The 2nd to last verse in the Bible says this: “He which testifieth these things saith, Surely I come quickly. Amen. Even so, come, Lord Jesus.” I am so thankful my Jesus is coming back for me! Someday, I will see Him face to face and fully understand His love and grace for me. That is something to be excited about!

Are you excited?

