No, I didn’t have a near-death experience. I was just reminded tonight that it’s very easy to go through life without actually doing any living. Ecclesiastes 11:7 says, “Truly the light is sweet and a pleasant thing it is for the eyes to behold the sun.” Solomon is basically saying, “Man, it’s good to be alive!”

I am generally a happy person. I enjoy life a lot. I’ve got a pretty good one compared to many. So, I’m not writing this because I had a bad day or because I was down. After reading that verse tonight, I thought about my week. I celebrated 15 years of marriage and 20 years of friendship with my bride Beverly this Wednesday. I was able to sit down with my Bible this morning and read and pray to my God without fear of being arrested. I had a ninja pillow fight with my kids on Thursday. My little Ethan is learning to talk. My princess Arianna hasn’t peed in her bed in almost two weeks. And so much more I can’t mention in a small column here. There’s a lot to smile about isn’t there?

As I thought about Solomon’s words, they found an echo in my heart. Man, it sure is good to be alive! The amazing thing is that God didn’t have to do any of that for me. He didn’t have to make me. He didn’t have to give me anything to enjoy in life. He didn’t have to make it good to be alive. I don’t deserve any of it.

But what about suffering, you ask. What about pain, you counter. I’ve been there myself. And I wish I could say that each time I had the same mindset I have tonight. I can say this though. Whether being in pain myself or going through suffering because those I love are in pain, my life isn’t defined solely by that pain. If I step out into the full exposure of the sun and look at everything that goes on underneath its rays, I’m bound to find a lot more than just my the pain. And even if everything under the sun was pain, there’s still a God who loves me and a Savior who died for me. Both of which I don’t deserve. So, come what may, it’s good to be alive.

I’m so thankful God made me and has allowed me this day to enjoy so many of the good things He’s brought into my life. I’m so thankful He doesn’t give me what I deserve, but pours out more blessings than I can contain. I’m so thankful I don’t just live – I get to be alive.

Have you thanked the Lord lately for making you? Do you take life one day at a time and enjoy each one, with both it’s happy and difficult moments? Stop and take some time each day to be alive!

