In prepartion to teach Song of Solomon at our church, my head was spinning with all the viewspoints that commentators have on this book. It’s an allegory! It’s a type! It’s a Shakespearean-like tragedy!

Seriously?

The common thread for all of these viewpoints is that it required some special education or knowledge to be able to understand the meaning of the book. Did you know that it was commonly taught in one denomination that you couldn’t read Song of Solomon unless you were 30? Pastors weren’t allowed to teach on it until they were 50! Yet, this is in direct contradiction to 2 Timothy 3:16-17, which states, “All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteosness: That the man of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works.” Do we see what happens when we try to be smarter than God?

How about the simple, obvious truth. Song of Songs is a love song between Solomon and the Shulamite girl. That’s a truth even the newest believer can read, understand, and apply to their lives. That’s what the simple commentators agreed on. I John 2:27 says, “But the anointing which ye have received of him abideth in you, and ye need not that any man teach you: but as the same anointing teacheth you of all things, and is truth, and is no lie, and even as it hath taught you, ye shall abide in him.” This anointing is mentioned in v20 as the Holy Spirit. Jesus said in John 14:26, “But the Comforter, the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.”

I’m so thankful, I can sit down with my Bible and both understand it and apply it to my life with the help of the Holy Spirit. I’m so thankful I don’t have to look for some “deeper” meaning or “higher” truth, but I can just simply take him at His Word. I’m so grateful that He spoke to me in such a way that I could know Him and please Him no matter my age, intelligence, or education. I’m so thankful that even though I don’t have a doctorate degree, I can study to show myself approved unto God and rightly divide His Word because He’s made it simple enough even for me to understand it 🙂

Have you thanked the Lord lately for giving you the Holy Spirit to help you understand the Word? If you’ve struggled applying the Bible to your life maybe you should take some time today to sit down and ask His help? You won’t regret it!

