One of the most common questions I get as a Pastor is this: “How do I know God’s will for my life?”

Usually the question is in regards to a subject that is unknowable. Does God want me to take this job promotion? Does God want our family to move? Is this person the one I’m supposed to marry?

What’s awesome is that Jesus was asked the same question! In John 6:28, the people asked him, “What shall we do that we might work the works of God?” Jesus answered in v29, “This is what God wants you to do – Believe on Him whom He has sent.”

You might say, “Duh, Will – I know that.” Well, believing in Jesus isn’t the only thing God wants me to do that is clearly revealed. In fact, unless you have the entirety of scripture memorized and in your heart, there’s a lot of the will of God to still learn 🙂

At my second job, there are many opportunities to fudge the numbers. Sometimes getting the correct data requires a lot of time and effort when I could just as easily make it up and no one would know the difference. On one particular day last week, I was tempted to do so because the data came to me was horribly messed up. But God reminded me of something from my devotion that morning.

“Take heed to yourself that you offer not your burnt offerings in every place that you see. But in the place which the LORD shall choose in one of thy tribes, there you shalt offer your burnt offerings, and there you shall do all that I command you.” – Deuteronomy 12:13-14.

The people of Israel couldn’t worship God however they wanted. There were boundaries and principles to follow. God had a clear, revealed will for their lives when it concerned worship. When the Word of God was ignored, Israel often opposed God’s will in this area and made offerings in the “high places”, something God was displeased with. At my job, God’s will was clear.

“You shall not lie.” – Matthew 19:18.

That was God’s will for my life at that moment, and I am so grateful He’d disclosed it to me in His Word.

Too often, we spend time wondering what the “unknowable” will of God is when there’s so much He’s already revealed that we need to learn. And here’s the cool part! If we focus on the “knowable” will of God from His Word, we’ll better be able to discern the “unknowable” things.

“But strong meat belongs to them that are of mature, even those who by reason of use have their senses exercised to discern both good and evil.” – Hebrews 5:14.

I’m so thankful God has given me clear boundaries in life as to what He wants me to do and what He doesn’t want me to do. I’m so thankful I don’t have to wonder if my actions are pleasing or displeasing to Him because He’s revealed those things in His Word.

Have you taken the time to learn God’s knowable will lately? Have you thanked God for His revealed will in His Word lately? Or are you waiting for God to write something in the sky? He’s already written you something – Take some time to dig into it!

