Failure. Loser. Unsaved. Unforgiven. Has-been. Never-will-be. I’m sure you could add any number of titles to this list of downers. The enemy of our soul has unlimited accusations. And to be honest our sins, failures, or natural shortcomings give him plenty of ammunition.

This is why a Biblical understanding of grace so important. The enemy often uses discouragement or condemnation to keep me stagnant in my walk with the Lord. How does he do this? By deceiving me into thinking I am defined by my experiences rather than by what God says about me.

If the enemy accused me of being a “wife-beater”, it really wouldn’t bother me because it’s the exact opposite of the truth. But let’s say he accused me of something much closer to my reality. If I don’t have a proper understanding of who I am in Christ, it’s very easy to fall prey to his lies because of what I can see and feel around me.

So, what are the facts?

“Know ye not, that so many of us as were baptized into Jesus Christ were baptized into his death?” – Romans 6:3. Paul says this is something I should know. Okay. What’s the significance then? v4. ” … like as Christ was raised up from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life.” I stand in the righteousness of Christ now, not my own. My past, present, or future failures cannot lesson the righteousness of Christ.

“Knowing this, that our old man is crucified with him, that the body of sin might be destroyed, that henceforth we should not serve sin.” – Romans 6:6. This is a fact. I am not a slave to sin and I don’t have to let my struggles or failures define me. That old life is dead. I will NOT be this way forever because the Lord is going to conform me to His image as I continue to walk with Him! Even if it feels like I’ll never change.

“Knowing that Christ being raised from the dead dies no more; death hath no more dominion over him … Likewise reckon ye also yourselves to be dead indeed unto sin, but alive unto God through Jesus Christ our Lord.” – Romans 6:9,11.

I’m so thankful that I’m defined by what Jesus did and not what I’ve done. I’m so grateful for all the things God says about me because of what Jesus accomplished on the cross. There’s too many to mention in a blog post. I’m so thankful that when I sin, or fail at something, or even just feel like a loser, I don’t have to stay that way because I’m none of those things. I’m a child of God under His matchless grace  🙂  When I feel this way, it’s simply time to stand on what He says about me and yield myself to Him more fully.

Have you thanked the Lord for His grace lately? Find something today or tomorrow in the Bible that God says about you and worship Him for it!

 

