Ever stared at a gargantuan task and wondered where to start?

I brought home a sub a few days ago from a nearby restaurant and had that feeling. With meat oozing from every inch of the bread, every choice promised disaster. But also potential reward.

I’m pretty sure Solomon faced a much taller challenge when he succeeded his father David.

Yeah. That David.

How do you live up to the sweet Psalmist of Israel and the man after God’s own heart?

Now add to that the responsibility of building the Temple. Talk about a big sub.

“Give me now wisdom and knowledge that I may go out and come in before this people: for who can judge this thy people, that is so great?” – 2 Cronicles 1:10

Instead of staring at the job facing him and trembling with inactivity, Solomon took it to the Lord. And here’s the beauty.

God answered 🙂

The Lord gave Solomon the wisdom he needed, and then added additional blessings because of his humility.

“If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that gives to all men liberally…” – James 1:5a

I’m so thankful that whatever task I’m facing, I can confidently ask the Lord for wisdom, knowing that He’ll supply it. I’m so thankful that I never have to fear rejection or shame when I run to Him in faith.

Are you facing a big task? Is God asking you to step into the unknown? Run into His loving arms with confidence that He gives wisdom to those who trust in Him!

