“Be not afraid nor dismayed by reason of this great multitude; for the battle is not yours, but God’s.” – 2 Chronicles 20:15.

Have you ever felt like you weren’t up the task God set in front of you?

Tell me about it.

I’ve known my wonderful bride for 25 years, but I’ve still got so much to learn about being a good husband.

Parenting? Four kids, one in his teens, yet I still see so many areas of deficiency in my fathering.

I should have work down at least, right? 18 years as a Pastor has only shown me more and more how much I’m in over my head.

But here’s the cool part.

When Jehosophat’s kingdom was invaded by the Moabites and a bunch of other “Ites”, he felt the same way. 2 Chronicles 20:3 says, “And Jehosophat feared…”

It’s okay to feel afraid. It’s not okay to stay there. Here’s the rest of that verse

“…and he set himself to seek the Lord, and proclaimed a fast throughout all Judah.”

Jehosophat took his fear to the right place and led the nation in seeking God for help. God responded with those beautiful words in verse 17.

“You shall not need to fight in this battle: position yourselves, stand still, and see the salvation of the Lord with you, O Judah and Jerusalem: fear not, not be dismayed; tomorrow go out against them: for the Lord will be with you.”

I’m so thankful I don’t have to give in when fear grips me. I’m so grateful I can stay in my lane knowing that God takes care of the rest. That I have the promises of His Word to quench the fiery darts of the enemy.

Has the enemy been threatening or discouraging you today? Take some time to place those before His throne of grace, and then leave them right there at His feet. The battle isn’t yours. It’s God’s!

