“Be strong and courageous, be not afraid nor dismayed….for there be more with us than with him.” – 2 Chronicles 32:7.

I came across an article two days ago that stated one in four Protestant Pastors struggle with depression, anxiety, or burnout. This closely mirrors the numbers given for the general population (one in five).

What does it mean?

That there’s a lot of hurting people, and we have an enemy who has no issue kicking us when we’re down.

When Hezekiah became king of Judah, he inherited a mess from his wicked father Ahaz. The temple had been desecrated. Syria and the northern kingdom of Israel had plundered his cities. They’d emptied their treasury to buy off the king of Assyria to help, but he took the money and ran.

Into this situation Hezekiah brought genuine reforms, urging the people to draw near to the Lord. And they did. But right in the midst of this rebuilding effort, guess who shows up.

The king of Assyria with 180,000 soldiers.

During his rampage through the Middle East, he conquers both Syria and Israel, and now he’s surrounded Jerusalem.

That’s when Hezekiah utters those words above. Be strong. Don’t be afraid of the King of Assyria. Why? Because we have the bigger army.

Say what?

The king continues in v8. “With him is the arm of flesh; but with us is the Lord our God to help us, and to fight our battles.”

Martin Luther penned the following in that famous hymn A Mighty Fortress Is Our God.

 

The prince of darkness grim, we tremble not for him.

His rage we can endure, for lo, his doom is sure.

One little word will fell him.

 

I’m so thankful my God is greater than anything the enemy can throw at me. That He is with me and fights my battles for me. That when I grow weary in the fight, I can take my stand knowing He will make me stand.

Have you taken the time to acknowledge that God is greater than whatever you are facing today? Stop for a moment and worship Him in His almighty power.

