“The voice of the Lord is powerful; the voice of the Lord is full of majesty.” – Psalm 29.

Sometimes it whispers behind me, like Isaiah said. Prompting me. Guiding me.

Others it crashes like thunder upon the mountain when God spoke the commandments to Israel for the first time. It reverberates from my mind to my heart like the lightning in that holy cloud.

Then there is that still, small voice wooing me back to Him with conviction when I’m not where I should be like Elijah.

This book that contains everything that pertains to life and godliness.

It can sit on a desk calling to me. I can resist it in my laziness or carnality. I can study it and apply it with excitement or intellectual stimulation.

Sometimes, in those oh-so-God moments, I tremble holding it.

Each word a gentle hammer breaking up the fallow ground in my soul. A fire burning away what’s not of Him. With Isaiah, I cry, “I am undone!”

But then it strips me bare like a Laodicean and clothes me anew soothing my worry and shame.

Reminding me of who I am, and what can never be taken from me. It builds me up and calls me to stand, holding forth the Word of life to others.

Is there any other voice that can reduce us to a pile of salty tears and ignite a fire inside that can’t be contained?

“Give unto the Lord, O you mighty. Give unto the Lord glory and strength. Give unto the Lord the glory due His name; worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness.” – Psalm 29:1-2

Oh, I am so thankful for the powerful Word of God! Have you taken time to open His Word and hear His voice today?

 

Your word stands through the ages, Your voice shatters the darkness

In you we are more than conquerors

You speak, strongholds surrender, Your name overcomes the enemy

In you we are more than conquerors

 

 

 

 

 

