Our church is fasting today. When the Lord laid it on my heart to call our church to this venture, I didn’t know what to expect.

All week I’ve been blown away by the excitement and anticipation from our congregation. It was like that moment in a theater when everyone is sitting on the edge of their seat wondering what will happen next.

I’m so blessed to serve a congregation that is hungry for the Lord and expects Him to work ๐Ÿ™‚

In light of this, I’m not sure why it surprised me that God starting speaking to my heart early and often. On the drive to the church, God revealed something inside my heart that needed to change. Then he confirmed it in a conversation this afternoon in which the talk was nowhere near that topic.

Should we expect anything less from our God?

“Behold, the Lord’s hand is not shortened, that it cannot save; neither his ear heavy, that it cannot hear.” – Isaiah 59:1

Come. Let’s talk about this.

Aren’t those the words ever on God’s lips through his prophets? It’s in those times of prayer and fasting that the Lord gets hold of us in the way only He can.

He places His finger on our stubborn sins, cronic fears, hopeless doubts, and weakened courage. And then He speaks.

Oh, the voice of God calling out to us through His Word. It’s the same voice that made the hearts burn of those two disciples who walked with him on the road to Emmaus.

I’m so grateful the Lord still speaks. That He cries out “He that has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches”. That He knows right where I’m at, what’s best for me at all times, and answers my feeble cries.

Are you under a burden right now? Stop what you’re doing and take some time to fast and pray. Don’t get the Big Gulp on the way home. Skip Taco Bell. Get a water bottle instead and then really do some business with God.

And I don’t mean the accusing “Why aren’t you fixing this, God?”

Speak those words that you fear the most.

“What do want to do in me right now – right in the midst of this crisis? I want all that you want for me and you have my full attention.”

Then open your Bible and read. He’ll speak ๐Ÿ™‚

