“And God remembered Noah, and every living thing…” – Genesis 8:1

I was driving today and the radio announcer brought up that it was the 14th anniversary of September 11th.

I remember that morning like a video permanently etched in my mind.

I remember seeing the 2nd plane hit.

I remember watching the first tower fall. The smoke. The shock. The tears.

I remember all the questions and fears afterwards.

I remember nervously boarding a plane just a few months later and praying most of the way.

I remember thinking, I bet things like this would happen more often if you didn’t love us so much, God.

Fifteen years later, I see a world that’s more violent than ever.

It’s not difficult to believe the words of Christ in Matthew 24:22, “And except those days should be shortened, there should no flesh be saved.”

I’m so thankful that God is still with us. That despite how we ignore or despise Him, He doesn’t forget about me and the rest of the world. That He’s actively involved in our lives.

Take some time today to stop. Shut off the TV. Hug your family. Get on your face and thank God for His precious mercies that allow any of the good things we have in life.

“It is of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because His compassion’s fail not.” – Lamentations 3:22.

 

