“I have rejoiced in the way of your testimonies, as much as in all riches.” – Psalm 119:14

After sending his disciples out, Jesus took His disciples away from the hustle and bustle of life to a quiet place (Mark 6, Luke 9). There are other instances of this in Gospels as well.

These catch my attention because scripture gives us glimpses into these meeting, but not many details. All we know is that Jesus spent quality time with them away from their normal activities.

I recently returned from a leadership conference that serves a similar purpose. We gather with fellow pastors and leaders to hear what Jesus would say to us away from the hustle and bustle of the places we serve.

I’m always amazed how the Lord meets me there. I often go with expectations that God is going to give long-sought answers to prayer or freshen vision for an aspect of ministry.

But my favorite part is when God puts on the wrestling suit and charges out of the bushes.

There’s something reverent, holy, painful, and endearing when God wrestles with me in these moments.

You know what I speak of. God confronts you on an issue you weren’t prepared to address or didn’t know was a problem. You’re shocked. There’s a bit of you that cries out “Hey, what’s wrong with you! Why did you tackle me?”

There’s even the question of whether of not it’s God who’s speaking to you.

But then you stop fighting, and you listen to that still small voice which says, “I had to get your attention – Now that I have it, let’s talk.”

And then, God gently and lovingly breaks you.

I’m so thankful that God loves me enough to get me away from the hustle and bustle so I can hear His quiet voice speak to my specific needs. I’m so thankful He loves me enough to tackle me when I’m a bit hard of hearing.

Have you considered that God might be calling you away too? Maybe there’s a conference or a meeting at your church God’s been prompting you to attend. Have you considered that it’s time to stop fighting God, and to give up your time doing other things so you can get away with Him?

On a side note, if you’re looking for some personal getaway time in the Word, check out the messages from the conference I attended at seccpc.com. I know you’ll be blessed like I was!

