“Behold, as the eyes of servants look unto the hand of their masters, and as the eyes of a maiden unto the hand of her mistress; so our eyes wait upon the LORD our God, until that he have mercy upon us.” – Psalm 123:2

This verse from the 4th Psalm of Ascent especially hit my heart today. We spent the afternoon at Tel Aviv, the 2nd largest city in Israel. It’s Biblical name is probably most familiar to you as Joppa.

The place where Jonah purchased a ride that landed him in the belly of a fish.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s also the place where Peter raised Tabitha from the dead. But the place that moved me the most was the house of Simon the Tanner.

img_0854

It’s probably not Simon the Tanner’s house. But his house did exist in this area. In Acts 10, we find Peter sitting on top of the roof, possibly one like this. While there, the Lord gave Peter a vision of kosher and non-kosher animals, and told him to eat them.

Peter refused, but the Lord told him not to call something unclean that He had cleansed. Through that he realized that Jesus died for Gentiles too.

Because of that day, the Gospel spread beyond Israel all the way to a place called Orlando, Florida. The place a Gentile named Will Ramirez gave his life to Jesus two thousand years later.

There I was standing in the place it all started. I’m so grateful the Lord gave Peter that vision. I’m so grateful Peter obeyed the Lord and shared the Gospel with Cornelius. I’m so glad someone took that message from Joppa to me.

The Lord showed me mercy thirty years ago, and my eyes still wait with expectation on His mercy. Tell someone about His mercy today!

#calvarychapelorlando

The video’s below are re-posted from Facebook earlier today. They briefly shared the 2nd and 3rd Psalms of Ascent.

