“Let Israel hope in the LORD from henceforth and for ever.” – Psalm 131:3

Well, I’m in Jerusalem. I saw some camels, Bedouins, Jericho, and the Jordan River along the way, but everything was gearing toward our entrance to the Holy City.

Israel Musem - Old City West View

It was a bit of a disappointment because of the weather. Not the city. Just the view. Everything was hazy, so you could barely see the Western Wall and the rest of the old city.

I imagine tomorrow will be very different as we walk the streets of Jerusalem.

But the trip took so long to get here, we were only able to visit a museum and then check into the hotel once we were here.

I was expecting something almost magical when we crested the last Judean hilltop, pulled around the Mount of Olives, and then through the tunnel that leads to Jerusalem.

What I learned is that my blessing comes from the Lord, and not the breathtaking view of an ancient city.

The highlight of my day came from having great fellowship with another pastor and his wife at dinner. In that the Lord reminded me that He came for people. All the people in Jerusalem to the uttermost parts of the earth.

People like me.

Lunch 5

And He died for them in this city. Our fellowship was based on that. Not breathtaking views.

Maybe you’re in the midst of a ho-hum day. Maybe you’ve had a bunch of ho-hum days. God wants to bring blessing in the midst of the people who are part of your ho-hum day, as you pour into them, and they pour into you.

I’m so grateful that God gave me great time with a brother and sister I barely knew before tonight. I’m so thankful I’m part of a family that spans the entire globe. Aren’t you?

