“Surely I will not come into the tabernacle of my house, not go up into my bed; I will not give sleep to mine eyelids, until I find out a place for the Lord, an habitation for the mighty God of Jacob.” – Psalm 132:3-5.

The 13th Psalm of Ascent is a prayer for God’s temple in Jerusalem. They’d sing it on the last part of their journey to city.

Today we visited the the only remaining parts of the Temple Mount which the Jews can access. The Western and Southern Walls. Because the south part of the wall is part of an exhibit, the west side is the one they visit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Why do they come? Surely for help to keep the commandments.

But mostly to pray for God to restore the temple. I imagine this Psalm is on many of their lips.

Why here? Because this is the closest they can get to the location of the Holy of Holies after the Romans destroyed the temple in 70 AD. They believe God’s divine presence is still in that spot beyond the wall.

Some of them will press their face against the wall. Others place the Old Testament scriptures over their face and press it against the wall.

During the tour inside the Rabbinical tunnels, which give underground access to the rest of the wall, I saw a woman weeping. You could tell she was pleading with God for something very important to her, pressing her shaking hand against the wall, hoping for an answer from the presence of God.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I choked back the tears because she was so desperate for something that in her mind she couldn’t touch. My heart broke for her because she didn’t have to be here to touch God. Jesus would come right into her heart and be with her wherever she went if only she’d ask.

The sadness only increased with row upon row of similar men and women. I realize this is a holy site for many religious Jews.

It isn’t for me. It was a broken wall that supported a long-gone building that no longer contained God’s divine presence.

And God says as much in Psalm 132. The prayer of the people ends in v13. We see God’s answer in v14-18.

“Here will I find my rest for ever: here will I dwell; for I have desired it” – Psalm 132:14.

Where? Not in a building. Or in any location in Jerusalem.

“I will clothe her priests with salvation; and her saints shall shout aloud for joy. There will I make the horn of David to bud; I have ordained a lamp for mine anointed. His enemies will I clothe with shame: but upon Himself shall His crown flourish.” – Psalm 132:16-18.

Jesus is the horn of David. God’s anointed.

God answers with a prophecy of Jesus! And He makes His home in those who are saved.

God’s presence lives inside me. And I can touch Him, hear Him, and talk to Him wherever I am.

“And this is eternal life, that they might know you, the only truth God, and Jesus Christ, whom You have sent.” – John 17:3.

That was Jesus’ prayer before He went to the cross. And God has answered it.

I’m so thankful I don’t have to pray at a wall begging God to help me keep 620 commandments (or 39 if you’re a woman) so I can get to heaven. I’m so grateful that Jesus lives inside of me by faith alone. That I have a relationship with Almighty God and His Son Jesus Christ, who promise to never let anyone pluck me out of their hands.

If you’ve been reading my blog and you don’t have a relationship with God, I plead with you. Stop trying to be good enough to get to Him. Stop thinking religious rituals will get you to close to Him somehow. Come to the cross, recognize your helpless state, and throw yourself on His mercy. Jesus will always abundantly pardon!

