“You rely on your sword, you commit abominations and each of you defiles his neighbor’s wife. Should you then possess the land?”‘ – Ezekiel 33:26 (NASB)

The exiles in Babylon eagerly awaited the time when they would overthrow Babylon and return home to Judea. Why not? Their “prophets” had told them it would happen.

But God asks them a good question through his true servant Ezekiel.

Why should I let you go back home when you haven’t changed your behavior?

God sent this group into exile (and would bring the rest soon) because of their sin. If you read the verses before and after this one, He lists a heap of stuff they were still doing.

But one stood out to me.

“You rely on your sword…”

How many times and in how many ways do I do that each day?

Far too frequently, I charge into a problem with the kids, or a work dilemma, or a conflict with my neighbor with my own sword instead of seeking Jesus.

The Lord isn’t asking much. He wants me to acknowledge Him in all I do, dig into His Word so I can know the right thing to do, and to let Him fight my battles for me.

Even if it’s something I tend to get by each day on my own.

I’ve learned an important lesson in twenty years of teaching God’s Word. I’ve done it enough to know how to craft a sermon. But His sword is way more effective than mine.

I’m so thankful I can come to Him and His sword is always at the ready on my behalf. I’m so glad that He loves me and will fight every battle, big or small, for me. I’m so glad He cares about me enough to remind me that His way is best.

Why don’t you take some time today to sit at His feet and thank Him for His wilingness to go on the battlefield for you? While you’re at it, why not commit to trusting Him with some of those things you do all on your own each day?

