I’m always looking for ways to build relationships and gain more experience/exposure in the writing community. One of the ways I’ve decided to do this is to join the Port Yonder Press Mentoring Team. Basically, Port Yonder has offered to sponser small groups that work together under the guidance of someone with a lot of experience in the industry. One of the focuses of the group is to prepare excellent work that will catch not just the eye of the Christian market, but the General market as well.

We started on July 1st and our first goal is to produce a short story at 1,000 words or less (also known as Flash Fiction). In addition to writing the story, our goal is to research magazines and publications that our story would fit with in the General market so we can pitch these stories to them. In doing so, we’ll have an opportunity to get published and learn all that goes into that process.

Well, I’ve written two pieces so far. I liked the first one, but my bride and oldest son pointed out that it was more of an opening chapter than a short story. So, I hammered out the next idea today. I was so excited when I got the end because I love it. It definitely stands alone as a short story and I think it’s one of the best pieces I’ve written so far. So, I’m pretty amped 🙂

On a side note, I’m looking for people’s impressions of it before I send it to my small group. If you’d like to give me some feedback on it, send me a message on Facebook or post a comment here and I’ll email it to you. It’s only 4 pages long, so won’t take much time 🙂

